ID Organization Name Type
102762 ussfnc Other
Search   Search
New Inductees to the NC Soccer Hall of Fame
Print PDF

The North Carolina Soccer Hall of Fame has announced three new inductees for 2017: Cindy Parlow Cone, Michael Berticelli and Stig Sasse.  Also, the UNC Greensboro Men’s Soccer Program will be inducted into the NCSHOF National Champions Hall of Honor.

An induction banquet honoring these soccer greats will be held in Greensboro on January 28, 2017, at the Greensboro Sheraton Four Seasons Hotel.

The North Carolina Soccer Hall of Fame, founded in 1997, inducts new members annually, including players, coaches, referees and administrators who have made a significant impact on the game of soccer in North Carolina. There are currently 57 members.

The National Champions Hall of Honor was added in 2012 to honor North Carolina teams and programs that have won national championships.  There are currently 4 members.



Stig Sasse was a respected and much-loved referee in North Carolina who served for almost a quarter century in North Carolina as an official, assessor and mentor to hundreds. 

He died on November 9, 2014.  His impact on North Carolina soccer extended well beyond the pitch.  In 2006, the North Carolina Soccer Coaches Association recognized him with its Official/Booking Agent of the Year Award and the Triangle Soccer Referees group established an annual award in his honor called the Stig Sasse Rising Official Award. 

In January 2015, the North Carolina Youth Soccer Association honored Sasse posthumously with its highest award, Pioneer of the Game.

About | Contact | Privacy | Terms
© 2017 ArbiterSports
Server: 18